Once you have created a subscription, you can perform many tasks on the subscription itself. We’ve placed the following actions in a dropdown menu titled, “actions”.
There are two locations where you can access subscription actions.
An upgrade/downgrade migration allows you to move a subscriber to a new product using basic proration rules. When proration is applied to a subscription, a prorated charge or credit will be applied.
If you prefer to move a subscriber to a new product without performing any proration (no cost change), you may simply change the product for this subscription.
Upgrading/Downgrading will have the following effects:
- A prorated credit may be applied for the current product
- The pro-rated credit for prior period charges will include any component charges from that period
- A charge for the full amount of the new product will be applied
- A charge for the full amount of all component charges will be applied. All metered components will be reset to zero.
- The period start date will be reset to today’s date
- If switching to a new product family, all component balances will be reset
How to upgrade/downgrade a subscription:
- Select Upgrade/Downgrade from the Actions menu.
- Note the Subscriptions current product and current prorated credit (if any)
- “Select Product” to choose which product to migrate the subscription to in Chargify.
- There will not be a preview step; any product selected will immediately generate a charge.
- Select “Enable Coupons” if desired
For more information on Upgrades/Downgrades, please see our documentation here.
When you initiate a cancellation, you have the option of canceling it immediately or at the end of the current billing period.
Once you’ve selected which cancellation method, the following will take place:
- The customer’s credit card will no longer be charged after the cancellation takes effect
- Cancellation takes effect immediately if you press “Cancel Immediately”
- Cancellation takes effect around 3 Jul 2016 12:45 PM EDT if you press “Cancel at End of Period”
- No refunds or prorations will be made
- No email is sent to your customer
- A canceled subscription can be reactivated at a later date
How to cancel a subscription:
- Select Initiate Cancellation from the Actions menu.
- Choose between “Cancel Immediately” or “Cancel at End of Period”
For more information on cancellations, please see our article here.
Update Payment Method
Selecting “Update Payment Method” will direct you to the tab, Payment Details. Choose to edit, add or delete the payment method on file. Also, add a new payment method or email a request directly to the client so that they may update their payment method.
For more information, please see our documentation on Chargify-generated emails here.
View self-service page
Selecting “View self-service page” will log you out of Chargify. You will be directed to Chargify’s secure page where you can update the credit card for your Subscriber. This is a useful URL to send to your customer directly if they need to update their payment method.
For more information on self-service pages, please view our documentation.
Put On Hold
If the subscription is active, you can move it to the on-hold state. While the subscription is on-hold, it will not go through the renewal process and nothing will be charged to the customer.
If the subscription is in the on-hold state, then you have the ability to resume it. Depending on how long it has been on hold, it will either transition back to active and keep its normal next renewal date, or if that date has already passed, it will behave like a reactivation, re-setting the billing date to ‘now’ and charging the customer immediately.
Note that there is no credit given for ‘un-used time’. Chargify subscriptions are billed in advance, however, resuming an on-hold subscription will not automatically push the next renewal date out to account for the time that was paid for but not used. This feature is primarily intended for merchants shipping physical products where the entire value of the product is delivered shortly after the billing period begins.
If you would like to delete a subscription, there are a few precautions to take.
- Deleting the subscription removes its revenue and transaction history from your site
- It may be more appropriate to just cancel it instead: you’ll keep the revenue and the transaction history but it won’t renew anymore
- Deleting a subscription cannot be undone. Make sure this is what you want!
How to delete a subscription
- Select Delete from the Actions menu.
- Choose what attributes you’d like to delete (See below for explanations)
- Also delete the customer (name, email, reference value, etc)
If you plan to use this customer to create new subscriptions, then uncheck this option to retain the customer. Since a single customer can have several subscriptions, we will only delete the customer if this box is checked AND they have no other subscriptions.
- Also, delete the credit card
If you plan to use this same credit card on a new subscription for this customer, then uncheck this option to retain the card. Since a single card can be attached to several subscriptions, we will only delete the card if it is not used on any other subscriptions.
Subscription State Actions
Depending on the state of your subscription, the Actions menu will display different options.
When the subscription is in the active state, the following options will be displayed:
Past Due Subscriptions
As we look at the options available under Actions for past due subscriptions, we see that our options are limited.
What’s missing, in this case, is the option to have the subscription be Put On Hold. If you’d like to suspend this subscription, you may only do so if the subscription is in the Active state.
When in the Past Due state, however, a new option is available to Cancel Dunning. This takes the subscription out of Dunning by resolving the Dunning Process and moving the subscription from Past Due to Active. You can read more about special interactions with this feature on our Cancel Dunning page.
Furthermore, actions become increasingly limited as we enter the “canceled” state. Once again, we see that Put On Hold is missing. This will become an option if the subscription is in the Active state.
You’ll also notice that “Initiate Cancellation” has been replaced with “Reactivate Subscription”. Reactivate Subscription will allow you to bring the subscription out of the canceled state. The resulting state will be Active.
Lastly, Add Charge is also restricted from usage when a subscription is in a dead state. If you’d like to issue a one-time charge for a subscription, you’ll want to have the subscription in an Active state.
Trial Ended Subscriptions
With Trial Ended subscriptions, we see the same exact set of “Actions” available as the Cancelled Subscription state. Simply reactivate the subscription if you wish to see further options.
In the screengrab below, we see that those slightly different options are displayed for Expired Subscriptions. To expose further options, first, cancel the subscription. Once canceled, it’s possible to reactivate the subscription.
If a subscription is in a canceled state, in the “Subscription Actions” dropdown will be the option “Reactivate Subscription”. When this is selected options to reactivate a subscription will be presented.
- Start New Billing Period- When this option is selected the renewal payment will be expected as a new period will be started. Additionally, options to collect previous balances and restart the trial will be presented as options. Please note that any existing service credits or prepayments will automatically be applied to this renewal.
- Resume Billing Period- This option will only appear if the current billing period of the subscription has not elapsed. When this option is selected the subscription renewal periods will remain the same as prior to cancellation and resume to those dates. Any outstanding balance will also be expected to be paid at this time. Additionally, there will be an option to “Use Service Credits and Prepayments” if present on the subscription. If this option is selected these service credits and prepayments will be consumed before attempting the subscriptions payment profile.